Ocean County NJ Areas

Ocean County is named after the Atlantic Ocean, which forms the eastern border of New Jersey. In 1805 Ocean County was established from portions of Monmouth County, except for Little Egg Harbor Township which in 1891 seceded from Burlington County.

Today, Ocean County is 915 square miles, 638 of which is land making it the largest county in New Jersey. 33 Municipalities are established in Ocean County with over 560,000 residents. The geographic characteristics of these municipalities can be grouped into the following areas:

1.) [Pinelands Area] predominantly located within the western part of the county
2.) [Metedeconk River Area] the major watershed within the northern part of the County
3.) [Island Beach Area] the 20 mile long northern barrier island
4.) [Toms River Area] the major watershed within the central part of the County
5.) [Long Beach Island] the 18 mile long southern barrier island
6.) [Mainland Bayfront Area ] Over 40 miles of bayfront properties to choose from

Ocean County, NJ is conveniently located to major cultural centers and prime destinations. Philadelphia is located roughly 50 miles to the west, New York City is located roughly 70 miles to the North, and Atlantic City is located roughly 25 miles to the south.

Ocean County NJ Government

Ocean County, NJ is governed by a Board of Chosen Freeholders consisting of five members, elected at large by the voters to serve staggered three-year terms. The Freeholders have both administrative and policy making powers. The 33 established municipalities in Ocean County have formed either a Township or a Borough.

Ocean County NJ Townships

In New Jersey Townships, voters elect a committee of three or five members, who have staggered three-year terms. The committee is the legislative body, and elects the mayor, who has a one-year term. The mayor chairs the committee and has a voice and a vote. 14 Townships are formed in Ocean County, NJ:

Walsh Act Township

Long Beach Township employs a Walsh Act form of government in which a 3 member Township Committee is elected at large. The committee is empowered to enact local ordinances, levy municipal taxes and conduct community affairs . The Commissioners conduct all business during monthly meetings open to the public.

Ocean County NJ Boroughs

In New Jersey Boroughs, voters elect the mayor and six council members. The mayor has a four-year term, and council members terms are staggered with a three-year duration. The council is the legislative body. 19 Boroughs are formed in Ocean County, NJ:




Image Credit(s): OceanCountyTourism.com